Camps: A Guilt Free Training Solution

Muskoka is known worldwide for our outdoor camps. Often, one of the hardest things to do when you have a family and are trying to train for an endurance event like a triathlon is the overwhelming sense of guilt. A guilty feeling that comes from the fact that athletes feel like they should be spending more time with their family.

We have the solution. By enrolling your kids in one of our many outdoor camps, the kids will hardly know that you are gone as they will be having such an amazing time at any number of our camps. Every kid should have a camp experience as it helps them grow personally and become stronger and more confident in who they are.

 

Camp Tawingo Huntsville (705) 789-5612 www.tawingo.net
Swallowdale Camp Huntsville (705) 789-9761 www.swallowdalecamp.com
Muskoka Woods Rosseau (705) 732-4373 www.muskokawoods.com
Arrowhead Camp Dwight (705) 635-1600 www.arrowhead.on.ca
Ontario Pioneer Camp Port Sydney 1-800-361-2267 www.pioneercamp.ca
Camp Mini-Yo-We Port Sydney 1-888-226-7699 www.miniyowe.com
Camp Wenonah Bracebridge (705) 645-6163 www.campwenonah.com
Camp Tamarack Bracebridge (705) 645-4881 www.camptamarack.info
Camp Muskoka Bracebridge (705) 645-6000 www.campmuskoka.com
Camp Huronda Huntsville (705) 789-7153 www.dcamps.ca/camp/camp-huronda
Olympia Sports Camp Huntsville (705) 635-2491 www.olympiasportscamp.com
Hockey Opportunity Camp Sundridge (705) 386-7702 www.learnhockey.com

 

Local Events Calendars and Other Resources

There is so much going on in Muskoka that it is hard to keep track of everything.  Thankfully, our local tourism boards have Events Calendars that can show you everything that is going on every day of the year.

Click here to visit the Huntsville/Lake of Bays Chamber of Commerce Event Calendar.

For even more events and activities visit:

Huntsville Adventures – www.huntsvilleadventures.com

Muskoka Tourism – www.discovermuskoka.com

Explorer’s Edge – www.explorersedge.ca

Let Your Body Unwind

Whether you are an athlete training for one of our events, are a member of an athletes support crew, a volunteer, or a visitor to the area, everyone needs to unwind.  There is a wide variety of spas and therapists that would be more than happy to help you work out those kinks, pamper yourself, and truly let you relax.

Stay tuned to see these resources as we are updating our page!

Explore Muskoka’s Artistic Side

Muskoka has a strong and vibrant artistic community that encompasses the visual, dramatic, and musical arts.  There are many art galleries that visual artists and sculptors call home dotted throughout Muskoka.  However, throughout Huntsville’s downtown core, there are large scale murals that display an artists rendition of the area in the typical style of the Group of Seven.

Our community is a regular stop on internationally acclaimed musical artists who perform in cozy backroom venues all the way up to large scale outdoor concerts.

Stay tuned to see these great activities and events as we are updating our page!

Get Outside and Play

Your parents were right, it is beautiful outside so get outside and play! The Muskoka region is an all natural playground with many opportunities for people to get out and play.

Golf, hiking, biking, treetop-trekking, boating, and a vast array of playgrounds await visitors to take advantage of. Scroll through the list below to help plan out your days of what to do in your down time. Alternatively, put together a plan of fun activities that your family or friends can do while you are out training in our area.

Golf

Deerhurst Resort Huntsville 1-800-461-4393 www.deerhurstresort.com
Huntsville Downs Golf Course Huntsville (705) 789-1000 www.huntsvilledowns.com
North Granite Ridge Golf Club Port Sydney 1-866-385-0808 www.northgraniteridge.com
Diamond in the Ruff Golf Club Utterson (705) 385-2222 www.diamondintheruff.ca
Taboo Muskoka Gravenhurst (705) 687-8430 www.taboomuskoka.com
The Rock Minett (705) 765-7625 www.therockgolf.com
Muskoka Bay Club Gravenhurst  (705) 687-7900 www.muskokabayclub.com
Grandview Golf Club Huntsville  (705) 788-9978 grandview.clublink.ca

Explore the Great Outdoors

The Great Outdoors define Muskoka.  Covering over 3,900 square kilometres, Muskoka is home to approximately 58,00 people, with 18,000 of these residing in Huntsville. With so much of the great outdoors to explore, there is something for everyone!

On this page, you will find a plethora of information about where to hike, paddle, trail bike, or simply get lost in the woods.

Check out this video for a sense of what you are in for!

 

IM Outdoor Activities